UPA Rules Quiz - Throwing Fouls

From Ultipedia

Jump to: navigation, search

This is a quiz based on the UPA_Rules_of_Ultimate ( here's a direct link for checking your answers) - ** note that references to the rules in question are provided after you finish your quiz

The quiz is based on the original, more general quiz found at UPA_Rules Quiz.

This quiz specifically tests knowledge of the rules surrounding Throwing fouls (fouls involving the thrower and the marker). See 11th edition section XVI.H.3.a) for the specific rules concerning these fouls.

[edit] Throwing Foul Questions

1. A defensive player is marking the thrower and is standing a few feet away from the thrower’s pivot and torso. The marker’s arms are extended straight out from their body to the sides and are stationary. The thrower pivots before attempting a throw and there is arm-to-arm contact before the disc is released. The contact is:

a foul on the marker
a foul on the thrower
no foul
see XVI.H.3.a)(2) “In general, any contact between the thrower and the extended (i.e., away from the midline of the body) arms or legs of a marker is a foul on the marker, unless the contacted area of the marker is completely stationary and in a legal position.” The marker is in a legal position (giving disc space) and their arms are stationary, so this is a foul on the thrower.

2. A defensive player is marking the thrower and is a few feet away from the thrower’s torso and pivot. The thrower pivots to their left and slightly forward to make a backhand throw around the marker; the marker jumps over in the same direction to block the throw and there is contact between the thrower’s elbow and the marker’s chest before the disc is released. The contact is:

a foul on the marker
a foul on the thrower
no foul
see XVI.H.3.a)((3) “Any contact that occurs due to the marker setting up in an illegal position (XIV.B.3) is a foul on the marker. Once the marker has set up in a legal marking position, it is the responsibility of both players to respect this legal position. However, contact resulting from the thrower and the marker both vying for the same unoccupied position is a foul on the marker.” As the marker and thrower are both vying for a spot previously unoccupied, it is a foul on the marker.

3. A defensive player is marking the thrower and is a disc space away from the thrower’s torso and pivot. At a stall count of nine, the thrower pivots toward the marker and contacts the marker’s chest with their shoulder. The contact is:

a foul on the marker
a foul on the thrower
no foul
see XVI.H.3.a)(4) “Any contact initiated by a thrower with the body (excluding arms and legs extended from the midline of the body) of a legally positioned (XIV.B.3) marker is a foul on the thrower.

4. A defensive player is marking the thrower and is a disc space away from the thrower’s torso and pivot. As the thrower winds up to throw a backhand, the marker lunges to attempt a block. The thrower’s hand contacts the marker’s arm just after the disc is released . The contact is:

a foul on the marker
a foul on the thrower
no foul
see XVI.H.3.a)(5) “Although it should be avoided whenever possible, incidental contact occurring during the follow through (after the disc is released) is not a foul."

5. A defensive player is marking the thrower with a ‘hard’ mark, less than a disc space from the thrower’s torso and with arms out and slightly forward. The thrower pivots to the side but contacts the marker’s arm with their shoulder. The contact is:

a foul on the marker
a foul on the thrower
no foul
see XVI.H.3.a) (3) “Any contact that occurs due to the marker setting up in an illegal position (XIV.B.3) is a foul on the marker. Once the marker has set up in a legal marking position, it is the responsibility of both players to respect this legal position. However, contact resulting from the thrower and the marker both vying for the same unoccupied position is a foul on the marker.” As the marker was not giving disc space, they were not in a legal position and any contact that resulted from that is a foul on the marker.

Your score is 0 / 0
Personal tools